Al Simmons

Al Simmons

Presented by: Centrepointe Theatres
Centrepointe Theatre
Saturday,  January 06, 2018 at 2:00 p.m.

Juno award-winning children’s musician, kooky comic, mad inventor and all-round wacky performer, Al Simmons entertains and enthralls. Known for his eccentric props and costumes, this Vaudevillian show thrills fans of all ages.

Al has released three albums, each of which won Parents’ Choice honours and garnered Juno nominations. His second album, Celery Stalks at Midnight, went on to win a Juno for Best Children's Album. In addition to his stage performances, Al tours schools to teach the science of sound waves, vibrations, resonance, and pitch through traditional and unconventional instruments. In Al’s world everything makes music: tin cans, garden hoses, spring doorstoppers, coat hangers, and turkey-basters!

His creative concepts have earned Al the spotlight with symphonies and at folk festivals across Canada, at International Children's Festivals and Worlds Fairs, and on every television station you could name as a kid.

"He's one of Canada’s - no the World’s - most inventive performers. The music is superb .... and the lyrics are witty. " - Today’s Parent

Genre: Family, Variety
Language: English
Tickets: $20


Ticket Purchase

January 06 at 2:00 pm

Al Simmons

Al Simmons

Présenté par : Théâtres Centrepointe
Studio du Théâtre Centrepointe
Le samedi 6 janvier à 14 h 00

Al Simmons divertit et captive les gens. Ce musicien pour enfants, gagnant d’un prix Juno, est un humoriste hors pair, un grand inventeur et un interprète complètement loufoque. Connu pour ses costumes et ses accessoires excentriques, cet acteur de variétés électrise ses fans, quel que soit leur âge.

Al a lancé trois albums, qui lui ont chacun permis de remporter un prix de la Parents’ Choice Foundation, en plus de lui mériter une nomination aux prix Juno. Son deuxième album, intitulé Celery Stalks at Midnight, lui a permis de remporter le prix Juno du meilleur album pour enfants. En plus de ses prestations sur scène, Al se rend dans les écoles pour enseigner la science des ondes sonores, des vibrations, de la résonance et des fréquences au moyen d’instruments traditionnels et non conventionnels. Dans l’univers d’Al, tout permet de faire de la musique : les boîtes de conserve, les tuyaux d’arrosage, les butoirs de porte à ressort, les cintres et même les poires à jus!

Ses concepts créatifs lui ont valu une place sous le feu des projecteurs. Il s’est notamment produit auprès d’orchestres symphoniques, dans divers festivals folk du Canada, lors de festivals internationaux pour enfants et d’expositions universelles, de même que sur toutes les chaînes de télévision que vous pouviez nommer étant enfant.

« Il est l’un des artistes les plus inventifs au Canada – non, au monde. La musique est superbe et les paroles sont pleines d’esprit. » [Traduction] – Today’s Parent

 
 

Genre : Famille, Variété
Language : Anglais
Billets : 20 $


Billets

Le 6 janvier à 14 h 00